Saturday, April 21, 2012

Morehead State "Storm the Court" Event to Raise Money for Tornado Victims

Morehead State University and WKYT are teaming up on Sunday to raise money for tornado victims in Eastern Kentucky.

The event, titled Storm the Court, will include a celebrity basketball game and a special performance by American Idol semifinalist Shannon Magrane.

Here is a release from MSU:

MOREHEAD, Ky. -- Morehead State University and WKYT-TV are teaming up to help people in Eastern Kentucky affected by storms this spring. MSU alumni, basketball alumni, WKYT-TV personalities, and special guest coaches will storm the court to raise money for the Eastern Kentucky region.

Join us on Sunday, April 22, at 2 p.m. in Ellis T. Johnson Arena of MSU's Academic-Athletic Center. Tickets are a minimum $5 donation - at the door, first come, first served. All proceeds will go to the MSU Cares Disaster Relief Fund to be distributed in the region. There will also be a special performance by American Idol™ semi-finalist Shannon Magrane.

There is quite a line up for Storm the Court:

BLUE TEAM - Coach: Donnie McKenzie, Morgan County businessman; assistant coach - Morgan County Judge Executive Tim Conley

#10 Rocky Adkins - MSU alum (class of 82, 83), former Eagle guard, KY Representative (D) - district 99, Majority Floor Leader
#33 Chris Bailey - MSU alum (97), WKYT-TV chief meteorologist
#27 Walter Blevins - MSU alum (72) and KY Senator (D) - district 27
#1 Bill Bryant - WKYT anchor
#32 Leon Buchanan - MSU alum (09), All-OVC player
#35 Megen Gearhart - 2003 Kentucky Miss Basketball, former MSU guard (07)
#12 Jaime Gordon - MSU head volleyball coach
#3 David Patrick - MSU alum (92), Communications & Marketing videographer
#30 Brett Roberts - MSU Hall of Fame, All-OVC player, 1992 NCAA Division-1 scoring leader (99, 04)
#5 Liz Shuler - former Ky all-state basketball player, 2012 MSU volleyball star
#15 Donnie Tyndall - MSU alum and head men's basketball coach (93)

GOLD TEAM - Coaches: MSU President Wayne and Sue Andrews; assistant coach - John Will Stacy (MSU alum (77) and KY Representative (D) - district 71

#40 Doug Bentz - MSU alum, All-OVC player (92, 97)
#2 Chynna Bozeman - MSU alum, All-OVC player, Eagles' all-time leading scorer (11)
#10 Greg Goral - MSU assistant volleyball coach
#4.2 Demonte Harper - MSU alum, All-OVC player, 2011 NCAA Tournament (11)
#25 Brian Lane - former MSU assistant, current head coach Transylvania University
#10 Bill Mayo - MSU national champion cheerleading coach
#22 Brian Miller - MSU alum, former Eagle guard (91)
#4 Amber Philpott - MSU alum, WKYT-TV news anchor (02)
#11 Shannon Magrane, singer, American Idol semi-finalist
#44 Julie Magrane-Muntz - MSU Hall of Fame, All-OVC player (92)
#15 Brandon Shingles - MSU alum, OVC champion guard (10)

Master of Ceremonies: Kevin Koett, dean of students
Game officials: Marla Gearhart, Marvin Gearhart, Jim Tom Trent (90)
Eagle Super Fans: Rocky (90) and Barbara Neimeyer, MSU retirees, and Merl Allen (48, 50)

No comments:

Blog Archive