Tuesday, March 10, 2015

Eastern Kentucky, UT-Martin to Play in the CollegeInsider.com Postseason Tournament

Eastern Kentucky and UT-Martin have accepted invitations to participate in the 2015 CollegeInsider.com Postseason Tournament (CIT).

Here's a release from each school:

RICHMOND, Ky. – Eastern Kentucky will make its third straight appearance in a national postseason tournament when the Colonels host a first round game in the 7th Annual CollegeInsider.com Postseason Tournament (CIT) on Tuesday, March 17 at 7 p.m.

Free St. Patrick's Day themed EKU t-shirts will be given away at the game. All Eastern Kentucky University students will receive FREE admission. Tickets for lower level chair-back seats will be $15, upper chair-back seats are $10 and general admission seats are $8. EKU season ticket holders and Colonel Club members can purchase chair-back tickets for half price if ordered in advance. EKU faculty and staff can receive half price general admission seats. To order tickets, or for more information, call the ticket office at 859-622-2122.

EKU's first round opponent will not be known until the complete field is announced on Sunday night. This is Eastern's sixth national postseason tournament appearance in the last 11 years. Included among those six are three NCAA Tournament trips.

The CollegeInsider.com Postseason Tournament was created in 2009. What began as a 16-team event, expanded to 24 teams in 2011 and is now a 32-team postseason tournament, with invitations extended only to teams outside of the BCS power conferences.

There is no formal bracket for the tournament. The match-ups for each round are determined after the preceding round is completed. All 31 games are played on campus sites.

The first round will be played on March 17-18. Second-round CIT games will be played March 20-21, quarterfinal games March 24-25 and semifinal games March 31. The championship game will be played on April 2. The semifinals and the championship game will be broadcast live on CBS Sports Network.

Eastern Kentucky played in the 2013 CIT, beating Gardner-Webb 69-62 before falling to Evansville, 86-72. The victory at Gardner-Webb was the first for EKU in a national postseason tournament in 68 years.

The Colonels are 19-11 overall this season, including a 28-point victory at No. 18 Miami. After ending the regular season with eight wins in nine games, Eastern posted a top-3 finish in the Ohio Valley Conference for the third straight season.

Complete EKU Release

MARTIN, Tenn. – Representatives from the CollegeInsider.com Postseason Tournament have extended an invitation to the University of Tennessee at Martin men’s basketball program and the Skyhawks will take part in the 32-team tournament, athletics director Julio Freire has announced.

“We are tremendously excited to advance on to the postseason for just the second time in our Division-I history,” Freire said. “The CIT will give our seniors a chance to continue their legacy and also give our underclassmen invaluable experience playing in a postseason atmosphere. We are very grateful for the opportunity that the CIT has provided us with their invitation.”

In existence since 2009, the CIT is one of four postseason basketball tournaments. The tournament is made up of non-BCS programs (ACC, Big Ten, Big 12, Pac-12 and SEC teams) who are not selected to participate in the NCAA Tournament or NIT.

The 2015 CIT field will be announced on the evening of Sunday, March 15. The first round will occur on March 17-18, followed by the second round on March 20-21, the quarterfinals on March 24-25, the semifinals on March 31 and the championship on April 2. In an effort to minimize travel and limit class time missed, the CIT does not have a set bracket and instead uses a model with future round opponents determined by results of the previous round to ensure geographic stability. All 31 games are played on campus sites.

Both the semifinal and championship games of the tournament will be televised nationally on CBS Sports Network. Previous CIT winners include Murray State (2014), East Carolina (2013), Mercer (2012), Santa Clara (2011), Missouri State (2010) and Old Dominion (2009).

Complete UTM Release

No comments:

Blog Archive