Friday, March 6, 2015

Union College, Brescia to Represent Kentucky in NAIA DII National Tournament

Union College and Brescia University will represent the Bluegrass State in next week's NAIA Division II Men's Basketball Tournament.

Union (29-4), the tournament's No. 15 overall seed, will face Northwestern Ohio (25-7) on Wednesday morning at 8:30 a.m.

The winner of Union's game will face the winner of Friends (17-15) and No. 2 Embry-Riddle (32-1) Friday morning at 10:15 a.m.

Brescia (19-10) will have their  hands full with No. 1 overall seed Indiana Wesleyan (31-2) Wednesday afternoon at 5:45 p.m. The winner will battle the winners of No. 16 Warner Pacific (25-7) and Olivet Nazarene (25-8) Friday at 4:00 p.m.

The entire event will be held on the campus of College of the Ozarks in Point Lookout, Missouri.

Here's more from the NAIA:

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) has officially announced the 32-team field for the 24th annual NAIA Division II Men’s Basketball National Championship. The event will be held for the 16th-straight year in Point Lookout, Mo., on the campus of College of the Ozarks (Mo.) from March 11 – 17. Nineteen programs are back after competing in the 2014 championship.

The official 32-team national championship bracket will be announced via a live selection show at 8 p.m. CST on

The 32-team field is comprised of 23 automatic qualifiers, one host berth awarded to College of the Ozarks, and eight at-large selections. Automatic qualification is given to conference regular-season champions, tournament champions or tournament runners-up depending on the league. At-large teams were determined using the final regular-season Coaches’ Top 25 Poll released earlier today.

Defending national champion Indiana Wesleyan takes a 31-2 overall record into the NAIA National Championship after earning an automatic berth as the Crossroads League regular-season champion. The Wildcats, who claimed the No. 1 ranking in all 11 Coaches’ Top 25 Polls this year, punched their eighth overall championship ticket and seventh-consecutive. They look to become the second Division II program in history (since 1991) to repeat as champs, which would join Bethel (Ind.) (1997-98).

Complete Release

No comments:

Blog Archive