Sunday, February 28, 2016

Spalding's Goeing, Trisko Named to SLIAC All-Conference Teams

Spalding University's Brandon Goeing and Nick Trisko were named second team all-conference in the St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference. 

Trisko was also named to the league's all-defensive team.

Here's a release from the league:

Deavis Johnson is the 2015-16 St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Men's Basketball Player of the Year, making it three different Highlanders in the last three years to take home the league's top award. Greenville's Dr. George Barber and Eureka's Shea Feehan also received top conference honors.

Deavis Johnson, a senior forward from East St. Louis, becomes the third consecutive Highlander to win the SLIAC's top individual honor. In doing so it marks the first time in league history a school has taken home the Player of the Year award three consecutive years. Johnson joins Brady Slagle (2013-14) and Clayton Whitlock (2014-15) as Highlanders to win the award. Johnson was one of just two players in the league to average a double-double this season, averaging 16.5 points and 11.1 rebounds per game during conference play. He shot 52-percent from the field and ranked in the top ten in scoring, rebounding, blocked shots, and assists. He recorded the second most rebounds in a game in conference history when he grabbed 21 in the same game as scoring a season high 34 points against Greenville.

Shea Feehan, a freshman guard from Peoria, Ill., is the 2015-16 SLIAC Newcomer of the Year. Feehan was a mid-season arrival for the Red Devils and made an immediate impact, averaging 22.1 points per game. He had three games of 30 or more points and shot 53-percent from the field while averaging 4.8 rebounds and 3.0 assists per game. Feehan is the first player from Eureka to take home the Newcomer of the Year award.

Dr. George Barber is the 2015-16 SLIAC Coach of the Year. This is the first time in Barber's 17 years as Panther head coach he has been named Coach of the Year. Barber guided the Panthers to a share of the SLIAC regular season championship, marking the first time since 1995-96 the Panthers program has won a regular season conference title. The Panthers finished the regular season with a 13-12 overall record and 12-6 in the SLIAC, going 12-3 in the second-half of the season. Earlier this season Barber also became the program's career leader in coaching wins.

In addition Westminster College received the SLIAC Team Sportsmanship award, the third consecutive year the Blue Jays have won the award. The team sportsmanship award is given to the team whose players, coaches and fans best exhibit the principles of good sportsmanship. For a full list of the 2015-16 SLIAC All-Conference Teams and awards see below.

First Team All-Conference

Tim Daniel Greenville College
Sam Feehan Eureka College
Chris Fowler Iowa Wesleyan University
Deavis Johnson MacMurray College
Brent Long MacMurray College

Second Team All-Conference

Adaku Anumu Principia College
Chris Davis Blackburn College
Brandon Goeing Spalding University
Nick Trisko Spalding University
Hunter Ward Webster University

All-Defensive Team

Chris Fowler Iowa Wesleyan University
Michael Hohm Greenville College
Deavis Johnson MacMurray College
Greg Kent Eureka College
Nick Trisko Spalding University

All-Sportsmanship Team

Jordan McMillen Blackburn
Michael Sain Eureka
Lelis Djona Fontbonne
Andrew Scott Greenville
Joe Lennon Iowa Wesleyan
Kollin Keltner MacMurray
Joey Sander Principia
Victor Cosby Spalding
Taylor Walton Webster
Kellen Brondel Westminster

Complete Release

No comments:

Blog Archive