Monday, February 22, 2016

Union College Playing for AAC No. 1 Seed, NAIA Tournament Berth Tonight

Union College will battle Tennessee Wesleyan in a one-game playoff tonight to determine the No. 1 seed in the Appalachian Athletic Conference Tournament.

The winner of tonight's game will also earn an automatic berth into the NAIA Division II National Tournament.

Here's a release from UC:

ASHEVILLE, N.C. - Eighteen conference games were not enough to produce an Appalachian Athletic Conference regular-season champion, so No. 5 Union College and No. 14 Tennessee Wesleyan College will meet Monday in a one-game playoff to determine the No. 1 seed for this week's AAC Men's Basketball Tournament.

In addition to the top seed being on the line, an automatic berth to the NAIA National Championship Tournament is on the line.

The playoff game is necessary because Union (25-5 overall) and Tennessee Wesleyan (26-2 overall) finished the regular season with identical 16-2 conference records and split the season series. Union and Tennessee Wesleyan each defeated the other on the road.

Per conference policies, the game is to played at a neutral site, so Milligan College will host the game on Monday at 7 p.m.

The game will be broadcast live online and can be viewed by clicking here.

Live stats are also available, and in-game updates will be provided by the AAC's official Twitter account @AACSports.

The men's tournament is being held in conjunction with the women's tournament at this week at the MeadowView Marriott Conference Resort and Convention Center in Kingsport, Tenn.

While the top two seeds have yet to be finalized, here are the seeds for the tournament:

1.Union College/Tennessee Wesleyan (16-2 AAC)
2.Union College/Tennessee Wesleyan (16-2 AAC)
3.Reinhardt University (16-13, 10-8 AAC) - won season series over Milligan
4.Milligan College (16-10, 10-8 AAC)
5.Bluefield College (17-11, 9-9 AAC)
6.Bryan College (13-14, 8-10 AAC) - Bryan, Point split the season series, but Bryan is the No. 6 seed by virtue of a win over Reinhardt
7.Point University (11-19, 8-10 AAC)
8.Truett-McConnell College (9-20, 5-13 AAC) - Truett-McConnell/ St. Andrews split the season series, but Truett-McConnell is the No. 8 seed by virtue of a win over Bluefield.
9.St. Andrews University (9-16, 5-13 AAC)
10.Montreat College (4-20, 3-15 AAC)

No comments:

Blog Archive