Tuesday, April 5, 2016

LMU's Josh Schertz Named Clarence Gaines National Coach of the Year

Lincoln Memorial's Josh Schertz was named Clarence "Big House" Gaines Division II National Coach of the Year over the weekend. 

Schertz led LMU to a 34-3 record and an appearance in the DII national championship game.

Here is a release from CollegeInsider.com:

HOUSTON, TX -- Lincoln Memorial's Josh Schertz is the recipient of the 2016 Clarence Gaines division II National Coach of the Year.

Schertz led the Railsplitters to a 34-3 record and the first NCAA Division II National Championship game appearance in program history, breaking the league and school record for wins and becoming the first program in SAC history to go undefeated in conference play with a 22-0 mark.

One of the true legends of all-time, Gaines retired from Winston-Salem State University in 1993 with a record of 828-446. At the time he was the winningest active basketball coach in NCAA history. Gaines was inducted into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame in 1982.

During his 47-year tenure as coach and athletic director at WSSU he coached professional basketball greats Cleo Hill (first African-American from an historically Black college and university to be drafted No. 1 by the National Basketball Association, St. Louis Hawks, 1961) and Earl "The Pearl" Monroe.


Ken Amman Concordia (California)
Tobin Anderson St. Thomas Aquinas
Justin Barkley, Rogers State Rogers State
Randy Baruth Saginaw Valley State
Tom Billeter Augustana
Lonnie Blow, Jr. Virginia State
Michael Cooney West Geogia
Jim Crutchfield West Liberty
Keith Dickson Saint Anselm
Mick Durham Alaska-Fairbanks
John Ellenwood Ashland
Blake Flickner Dallas Baptist
Donte Jackson Stillman
Jamahl Jackson Emmanuel
Steve Kinder Humboldt State
Ben McCollum Northwest Missouri State
Bob Pietrack Fort Lewis
George Pitts King University
Luke Reigel Wisconsin-Parkside
Steve Roberts Lander
Tom Ryan Eckerd
Danny Sancomb Wheeling Jesuit
Josh Schertz Lincoln Memorial
Jim Shaw Western Oregon
Chad Walthall Minnesota State-Moorhead

No comments:

Blog Archive