Monday, February 27, 2017

Spalding University's Nick Trisko Earns All-SLIAC Honors

Spalding University's Nick Trisko was named Second Team All-SLIAC Conference over the weekend. 
Here's a release from the league:
The 2016-17 St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference All-Conference (SLIAC) individual awards consist of a group of individuals that have helped their teams rise to the challenge this season and put together some of the best years in program history.
The SLIAC Men's Basketball Player of the Year becomes the first player in program history to receive the SLIAC's top individual award, from Iowa Wesleyan University, Steven Soukup. Soukup, a guard, joined the Tigers this year and made an immediate impact guiding them to a 17-8 regular season record and 13 conference wins, their best season since joining the conference four years ago. Soukup averaged 27.7 points per game in conference play this season, shooting an outstanding 65-percent from the floor. He was named the SLIAC Player of the Week four times this season and had nine games of 30 or more points including a career high of 44 back on January 4th.

The SLIAC Newcomer of the Year goes to Principia College's TreVaughn Goodman. Goodman, a guard, increased his performance as the season went on including averaging 15.1 points per game during conference play. He shot 64-percent from the floor and added 3.5 rebounds per game and 37 assists with 23 steals. Goodman topped the 20 point mark five times, including a career high 38 points, in the final eight games of the season, helping Principia secure a post-season spot. He is the second Panther to be named the SLIAC Newcomer of the Year, joining teammate Parker Davidson.

The SLIAC Coach of the Year goes to Todd Zimmerman, from Principia College. Coach Zimmerman led the Panthers to a 12-11 record during the regular season, going 11-7 in conference play. He led the Panthers to their first SLIAC Tournament since 2005 after winning an improbable seven of their final eight regular season games. The 12 wins are also the most by the program since the 2002-03 season. He is the second coach in Principia history to be named SLIAC Men's Basketball Coach of the Year, joining Gar Smith in 1991-92.
The 2016-17 SLIAC All-Defensive Team features three members of the Westminster Blue Jays in Romo Tabb, Jimmy Villalobos, and Carter Wands. They are joined by Parker Davidson, from Principia College and Evan Milligan, from Webster University.
This year's Team Sportsmanship award goes to Westminster College for a fourth consecutive year. The conference would also like to honor a player from each team for their sportsmanship during the season. Those players are: Ugo Pierantoni (Blackburn), Cade Fawcett (Eureka), James Wiggins (Fontbonne), Brian Ehresman (Greenville), Jordan Nutt (Iowa Wesleyan), Tim Frazier (MacMurray), Jeff Ross (Principia), Owen Mumphrey (Spalding), Jonathan Odjo (Webster), and Tanner Cochran (Westminster).
First Team All-Conference 
Shea FeehanEureka College
Evan MilliganWebster University
Shane SmithGreenville College
Steven SoukupIowa Wesleyan University
Romo TabbWestminster College
Second Team All-Conference 
Adaku AnumuPrincipia College
Kendall DavisEureka College
Kenny GreeneGreenville College
Brent LongMacMurray College
Nick TriskoSpalding University
Third Team All-Conference
Parker DavidsonPrincipia College
Sean O'BrienWestminster College
Micah PaulsonPrincipia College
Elmo SmithGreenville College
Michael SoukupIowa Wesleyan University
All-Defensive Team 
Parker DavidsonPrincipia College
Evan MilliganWebster University
Romo TabbWestminster College
Jimmy VillalobosWestminster College
Carter WandsWestminster College
All-Sportsmanship Team 
Ugo PierantoniBlackburn
Cade FawcettEureka
James WigginsFontbonne
Brian EhresmanGreenville
Jordan NuttIowa Wesleyan
Tim FrazierMacMurray
Jeff RossPrincipia
Owen MumphreySpalding
Jonathan OdjoWebster
Tanner CochranWestminster

No comments:

Blog Archive