Monday, October 25, 2010

Ohio Valley Conference Releases Preseason Basketball Poll

The Ohio Valley Conference has released its preseason men's basketball poll and all-league selections.

As expected, Murray State is picked to win the conference in the voting conducted by the league's head coaches and sports information directors.

Morehead State is expected to finish second followed by Eastern Illinois, Austin Peay and Eastern Kentucky.

Kenneth Faried is the preseason selection for OVC Player of the Year and is joined on the OVC Preseason Team by Eagle teammate Demonte Harper. Murray State has Ivan Aska, Isaiah Canaan, B.J. Jenkins and Isacc Milers on the team. EKU's Justin Stommes is also a preseason All-OVC selection.

OVC Preseason Poll
Rank Team Points

1. Murray State (18) 162
2. Morehead State (2) 146
3. Eastern Illinois 123
4. Austin Peay 107
5. Eastern Kentucky 92
6. Tennessee Tech 85
7. Tennessee State 81
8. Jacksonville State 51
9. Southeast Missouri 41
10. UT Martin 20

OVC Preseason Team
Player P CL School

Ivan Aska F Jr. Murray State
Anthony Campbell F Jr. Austin Peay
Isaiah Canaan G So. Murray State
*Kenneth Faried C Sr. Morehead State
Demonte Harper G Sr. Morehead State
B.J. Jenkins G Sr. Murray State
Tyler Laser G Sr. Eastern Illinois
Isacc Miles G Sr. Murray State
Kevin Murphy F Jr. Tennessee Tech
Nick Murphy G Sr. Jacksonville State
Justin Stommes F Sr. Eastern Kentucky

* Preseason MVP

No comments:

Blog Archive