Monday, March 16, 2015

Willie Cauley-Stein Earns First Team All-America Honors from the USBWA

WKentucky big man Willie Cauley-Stein has earned First Team All-America honors from the U.S. Basketball Writers Association.

Ohio State's D'Angelo Russell, a Louisville native, is also on the First Team.

Former Kentucky forward Kyle Wiltjer is on the Second Team.

All ten players will be finalists for the coveted Oscar Robertson Trophy, which is given annually to college basketball's top player.

Here's the release from the USBWA:



Pos. Ht. Wt. Yr. Hometown
F Willie Cauley-Stein, Kentucky 7-0 240 Jr. Olathe, Kan.
G Jerian Grant, Notre Dame 6-5 204 Sr. Bowie, Md.
F Frank Kaminsky, Wisconsin 7-0 242 Sr. Lisle, Ill.
C Jahlil Okafor, Duke 6-11 270 Fr. Chicago, Ill.
G D'Angelo Russell, Ohio State 6-5 180 Fr. Louisville, Ky.


Pos. Ht. Wt. Yr. Hometown
G Malcolm Brogdon, Virginia 6-5 215 Jr. Atlanta, Ga.
F Bobby Portis, Arkansas 6-11 242 So. Little Rock, Ark.
F Seth Tuttle, Northern Iowa 6-8 240 Sr. Sheffield, Iowa
F Kyle Wiltjer, Gonzaga 6-10 240 Jr. Portland, Ore.
G Delon Wright, Utah 6-5 190 Sr. Los Angeles, Calif.

ST. LOUIS (USBWA) – The 2014-15 USBWA Men's All-America Team features a true five-man lineup of first-teamers, led by two seniors who pushed their teams to conference tournament championships: Wisconsin forward Frank Kaminsky and Notre Dame guard Jerian Grant. Joining Kaminsky in the front court is junior forward Willie Cauley-Stein of unbeaten and top-ranked Kentucky and Duke freshman center Jahlil Okafor. Grant's backcourt mate is another freshman, Ohio State's D'Angelo Russell.

Based on regular-season performance, the entire USBWA membership of nearly 1,000 selects the nation's top five players on each of two teams regardless of position.

Overall, the Atlantic Coast Conference leads all selections with three, including Virginia's Malcolm Brogdon, who was named to the second team. The Big Ten and SEC each boast two All-America selections. Joining Brodgon on that second team are Bobby Portis from Arkansas, Seth Tuttle from Northern Iowa, Kyle Wiltjer from Gonzaga and Delon Wright from Utah. Portis, Tuttle, Wiltjer and Wright are all USBWA District Players of the Year.

Cauley-Stein, a 7-0 junior from Olathe, Kan., contributes to Kentucky's potent and balanced attack with 9.3 points per game to go with 6.4 rebounds. He is the USBWA's District IV Player of the Year and was a first-team All-SEC selection in leading the Wildcats to the No. 1 overall seed in the NCAA Tournament.

Complete Release

No comments:

Blog Archive